Voices: “Collapse”

Welcome to this month’s poetry series dedicated to Mental Health Month. This first poem is about the experience of the most desperate kind of depression; at least, my experience of it. I hope some of you are able to resonate with it.

8/14/04

Collapse

 

Exhaustion beyond the point of return

So much life is gone, no fuel left to burn

All love is lost, no passion remains

So broken down I can’t even complain

Too tired to breathe, too tired to move

I’ve nothing to promise and nothing to prove

After the fury, undeniable fall

I’ve run for so long and I’ve hit the wall

I’m cutting them off and closing up shop

I can no longer be just an unwilling prop

In this futile farce, this asinine game

For which every part of my soul has been claimed

All will is lost and apathy reigns

If only this madness could just be contained

I have to implode, make everything small

I’m no longer responding to anyone’s calls

I’m closing my eyes now so leave me alone

Just let me be lost in a world of my own

© Sarah Henderson 2004

About writingforrecovery

Sarah is a writer and poet who speaks out about issues that make people uncomfortable. Sarah advocates for causes such a sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and mental illness, and often speaks openly about her own experiences. She is determined to abolish the stigma associated with these issues and believes that it starts with people telling their stories, so she started a blog called Writing for Recovery where people can do just that. She is the author of three volumes of poetry and is currently at work on her fourth. She is convinced that there's a novel somewhere in her, and occasionally picks at the chapters so far. View all posts by writingforrecovery

Leave a Reply

