Domestic Violence Awareness Month: Early Call for Stories

Hello everyone! I know right now we are all concentrating on September being National Recovery Month (at least I hope you are!) and it’s quite early to be thinking about this, but October is, of course, Domestic Violence Awareness Month (DAVM). I also know that I just asked you all for your stories about recovery, but I was really hoping to do the same thing for DVAM. If any of you have had experience with domestic violence- whether you were a victim in a violent relationship, you grew up in a violent home, you knew someone in that situation, or you a treatment provider in this particular area- I would be honored to hear your stories and to share them on Writing for Recovery. As it is sometimes confusing to define exactly what domestic violence means, I have included a couple of links to really great sites that outline exactly the types of behaviors DV entails. As with the recovery stories, you are welcome to send and/or request to post them anonymously. You are also welcome to share your name and attach a photo or a meaningful image along with your story. To share your story or get more info, please e-mail me at write4recovery@aol.com (all e-mails are strictly confidential). I know talking about experiences with domestic violence can be painful and uncomfortable, but the more we are able to speak out about this issue, the less it will be able to proliferate in the darkness and silence. Having walked this path myself, I do understand, and I thank you so much for your courage. Love, Sarah

DuPage Hospital- DV Behaviors

HelpGuide.org- DV Behaviors 

About writingforrecovery

Sarah is a writer and poet who speaks out about issues that make people uncomfortable. Sarah advocates for causes such a sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and mental illness, and often speaks openly about her own experiences. She is determined to abolish the stigma associated with these issues and believes that it starts with people telling their stories, so she started a blog called Writing for Recovery where people can do just that. She is the author of three volumes of poetry and is currently at work on her fourth. She is convinced that there's a novel somewhere in her, and occasionally picks at the chapters so far. View all posts by writingforrecovery

9 responses to “Domestic Violence Awareness Month: Early Call for Stories

  • Sheena DeLance

    Love is never worth being injured over. Tonight my neighbor; sweet lady. was hit or she ran into her husband’s car due to arguement. I’m sure it was domenstic or him leaving her. I called 911 for her and us neighbors stood on street with her. I too lived in domestic situation. LIfe is a Gift!

    • writingforrecovery

      I’m glad you stayed back and called 911 instead of becoming personally involved, which as you know, is extremely dangerous. That was smart. I’m glad you made it through your situation safely. Please think about sharing your story- if you have any questions or want more info about it, please e-mail me at write4recovery@aol.com. Life is a gift, as you said, and I hope we can help others take it back from their abusers by doing this. Thank you, Sarah

  • Janette webster

    I am a survivor of domestic violence over an 28 year period of time ! It did not stop there and continued over a 7 year period after he was asked to leave – my experiences are varied, violence, manipulation and control and emotional abuse – my children suffered too and both my DV officer and solicitor agreed it was a dreadful case

    I am willing to share my experiences if it. Would help others to become safe

    Janette

    • writingforrecovery

      Wow, Janette. It sounds like you went through a horrible situation and I’m really glad you and your children made it out safely. Too many victims don’t. It would wonderful if you would share your story, and I thank you for your bravery. Sometime before October 1st, when your’e ready, please e-mail what you have to write4recovery@aol.com. If you’d like, you can include a photo of yourself, but I certainly understand if you don’t. Please also let me know if you’d like me to post with your name in whole or in part (like just with initials, for example). I do think that we all become safer every time another story is told, because that’s one less abuser that is allowed to hide his crimes, that is allowed to maintain his power. You are a strong person for taking your life back, regardless of whether you tell your story on WfR. I look forward to hearing from you. -Sarah

  • H.L.

    This past June my baby sister and best friend was shot and killed by her husband of 8 months in front of her 2 children (ages 2 and 6). I had just learned 2 days prior to her death that he was physically abusive in addition to the mental and emotional abuse that I had already witnessed. I had tried to get her to leave before in the past but she always made excuses. Having already dealt with a similar situation concerning my best childhood friend, I knew that when she was ready to do something about it she would come to me, and I had spent the last 4 years waiting for that day to happen with open arms. He went on to commit suicide before the police were able to apprehend him. The worst part is, is that his mother was present during the entire situation! She knew about the abuse the entire time and kept it to herself, as my sister had confided in me just 2 days prior.. Now we are facing a custody battle with his parents who were already granted temporary custody!! With their family history of domestic violence it is keeping the wound fresh on a daily basis to know my 2 neices are being exposed to and ‘cared’ for by people like that.. I now have a purple ribbon tattoo on my left foot and several friends and family members who have already or will be getting purple ribbon tattoos in rememberence of her as well. Living in the Northeast the mentality is still what happens behind closed doors is no one’s business but their own. Small town minds prevent incidents from being reported to the police as well around here so I am making it my goal to raise awareness in our local area (once the court case is done).

    • writingforrecovery

      Wow. I’m so sorry for your loss…that’s as bad as it gets. I pray that you get the children back. If it’s ok with you, I’d like to feature your sister’s story (anonymously, to be sensitive to your court case) during the WfR Domestic Violence Awareness Month project. I can post it just as you wrote it above, or if you’d like to write it differently, please e-mail it to me at write4recovery@aol.com. It is my goal as well to raise awareness of this issue, and how common it is, yet how it hides in plain sight. Thank you for sharing this. I hope to hear from you. Blessings, Sarah

      • H.L.

        That is perfectly fine with me. I tried to keep my post brief as I could ramble on and on about it at times.. If you want something with more specifics I don’t mind at all telling her story.

      • writingforrecovery

        Thank you. Actually, the way you summarized it in your comment was great. If you’d like to send me something more detailed though, I’d be happy to read it. You can e-mail me at write4recovery@aol.com. All e-mails are confidential. Thanks again, Sarah

Leave a Reply

