PostHope: A Place for Inspiration

Hello Recovery Writers!

It has been awhile, I know! But when I came across this site recently I had make WfR a part of it. Here I want to announce the opening of an adjunct site to the Writing for Recovery blog: It is called PostHope, and MY hope is that is will be a place for recovery inspiration. Please read the introduction from the PH site:

This is going to be a place where I hope (!) people will post some of their successes in battling the things we talk about on WfR: addiction, PTSD, eating disorders, sexual and domestic violence, self-harm, mental illness, and other issues. I would love to hear your stories of triumph, your progress, even the smallest of victories. Whether you’ve recovered completely, are in the process, or just had a moment where you decided not to use a self-defeating behavior, this is the site where I want to hear those inspiring tales. I believe sharing these things will give people hope that full recovery is possible!! So please feel free to post your own personal successes, those of your friends, or anything else that inspires you: quotes, photos, etc. 

Thank you for visiting this new little project. I hope you it gives YOU hope!

You can find the new site here at  http://www.posthope.com/writingforrecovery

I look forward to seeing you there! Peace, Sarah

About writingforrecovery

Sarah is a writer and poet who speaks out about issues that make people uncomfortable. Sarah advocates for causes such a sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and mental illness, and often speaks openly about her own experiences. She is determined to abolish the stigma associated with these issues and believes that it starts with people telling their stories, so she started a blog called Writing for Recovery where people can do just that. She is the author of three volumes of poetry and is currently at work on her fourth. She is convinced that there's a novel somewhere in her, and occasionally picks at the chapters so far. View all posts by writingforrecovery

6 responses to “PostHope: A Place for Inspiration

  • Leslie Neshama

    Sarah — I love this whole idea and inspiration, and your naming it POST HOPE is terrific. Very punny and very identifiable. I will write more soon, but for now, I just wanted to share my congratulations to you for all of your growth and willingness.
    ~~In a session recently, when I told my doctor that I had nothing to live for — it became clear, after we talked that LOOKING FORWARD is key.
    We do not know what the next milli-second will bring. But as long as I remind myself of HOPE and LOOKING FORWARD, then I have a lot to live for.
    Depression is darkness. It fools us into thinking that there is Nothing.
    Or that We are Nothing.
    I look forward to reading Post Hope.
    Blessings!
    Blessings!

    • writingforrecovery

      Leslie- thank you for the encouraging words! I actually can’t take credit for the name; PostHope is the host site, I just joined it to give Recovery Writers a place to share their successes. I think you’re absolutely right about looking forward- keep pushing on! Peace, Sarah

  • Elaina ~ PTSD-is-Normal.com

    This is a wonderful inspiring idea! I’m looking forward both to reading, and sharing, on Post Hope.

    Elaina

  • Elaina ~ PTSD-is-Normal.com

    Thank you. What a wonderful invitation!

    I am now writing something to share here, on Writing for Recovery. After that’s out of the way, I will write something for Post Hope.

    My PTSD-is-Normal blog is still being constructed. I have an older blog with several posts on it, at http://www.complex-post-traumatic-stress-disorder.com But I’m starting the new blog because I am so tired of people treating those of us with PTSD and other labels as being mental freaks. Having PTSD as a result of severe trauma is normal, just as it is normal to bleed if you are stabbed.

    By “normal” I don’t mean “healthy.” A lot of people seem to get those words confused.

    Elaina

    • writingforrecovery

      Elaina- You are so right!! I had PTSD from the time I was a child until I was about 25. I was fortunate enough to receive excellent trauma counseling in my early 20s, intensive therapy that helped me resolve those issues. I no longer suffer from any trauma symptoms and I am so grateful; I want people to know that full recovery from even complex PTSD IS POSSIBLE!!

      There is a wonderful page on Facebook I would love for you to see. It’s run by my dear friend Shannon, it’s called PTSD and Me. She was in a massive car accident about 2 1/2 years ago and has had complex PTSD ever since. Her whole mission by chronicling her journey is to show that even regular people get PTSD and are still “normal”- not “crazy”.

      And you are correct in saying that people get “normal” and “healthy” mixed up. They are used interchangeably sometimes and that’s not really something you can do in this case.

      I applaud you creating a web site dedicated to PTSD, I look forward to seeing it! And thanks for posting here and on PostHope!

      Ally the best, Sarah

Leave a Reply

