I self-harmed because…

This is a collaborative poem with contributions from various “Writing for Recovery” writers, collected and assembled by Särah Nour. I’d like to give thanks to everyone who shared their story and lent their voice.

tattoos

I self-harmed because

I was raped at the age of 14.

I stopped because

I am a survivor.

 

I self-harmed because

I needed a way to communicate how much pain I was in,

how deep my secrets ran.

I stopped because

I found my voice.

 

I self-harmed because

I wanted to do it to myself, before they did it to me;

I stopped because

I was no longer angry,

my rage had been expressed.

 

I self-harmed because

physical pain was easier than emotional pain;

I stopped because

it simply added to the total pain.

 

I self-harmed because

I wanted to let the anxiety out.

I stopped because

the pain became too much.

 

I self harmed because…

just because.

I stopped

just because.

 

I self-harmed.

I stopped.

It simply added to the total pain.

The pain became too much.

I was no longer angry.

I found my voice.

I am a survivor.

About writingforrecovery

Sarah is a writer and poet who speaks out about issues that make people uncomfortable. Sarah advocates for causes such a sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and mental illness, and often speaks openly about her own experiences. She is determined to abolish the stigma associated with these issues and believes that it starts with people telling their stories, so she started a blog called Writing for Recovery where people can do just that. She is the author of three volumes of poetry and is currently at work on her fourth. She is convinced that there's a novel somewhere in her, and occasionally picks at the chapters so far. View all posts by writingforrecovery

4 responses to “I self-harmed because…

Leave a Reply

