Ali Kvidt Photography: “running from myself”

 

This photograph and its accompanying words originally appeared on the blog, Facebook, and Flickr page of Ali Kvidt, founder of Ali Kvidt Photography.

 

img_3282

“running from myself”

 

As a part of National Suicide Awareness Week, I was asked to speak with schools in the Minneapolis area with a good friend of mine who works to raise awareness and end the silence. It was important to me this week to create portraits that reflected stories that I have heard, and my own. I dug deep into my diaries, and really listened to what other people had to say while they spoke their stories to me and out came this.

 

As a person who has suffered being in the dark, alone and feeling trapped I remember feeling as if I couldn’t say anything, that my words were never heard, and my screams were kept inside. One story this week really stuck to me, and the boy that I talked to told me that when he feels trapped he really couldn’t move, he felt as though he was running, and running from nothing but himself, and he couldn’t get away from his own thoughts. The feeling he mentioned felt so similar to the way I used to feel, and all I want in life is for those that feel this way, to come out, and know that they are being heard. Speak up, and you will always be heard.

 

– Ali Kvidt

About writingforrecovery

Sarah is a writer and poet who speaks out about issues that make people uncomfortable. Sarah advocates for causes such a sexual assault, domestic violence, child abuse, and mental illness, and often speaks openly about her own experiences. She is determined to abolish the stigma associated with these issues and believes that it starts with people telling their stories, so she started a blog called Writing for Recovery where people can do just that. She is the author of three volumes of poetry and is currently at work on her fourth. She is convinced that there's a novel somewhere in her, and occasionally picks at the chapters so far. View all posts by writingforrecovery

Leave a Reply

